This Tuesday 13th February, the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra and Spanish conductor Lucas Macías will be teaming up with Belgian violinist Marc Bouchkov, the First prize winner of the Montreal International Violin Competition, silver medallist of the Tchaikovsky International Violin Competition and recipient of the London Music Masters Award and Kulturstiftung Dortmund music prize, who will be arriving in Dubai for a concert presented as part of the 2024 InClassica International Music Festival, organised by SAMIT Event Group. The evening opens with the famed Overture from Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s 1786 opera The Marriage of Figaro, widely considered as one of the finest examples of the genre. Next comes Composer-in-Residence Alexey Shor’s Violin Concerto No. 6, ‘Carpe Diem’, a rich and expressive work full of lush melodies and sublime orchestration. As its name implies, the work is an optimistic and lively piece expounding a powerful zest for life, with a highly virtuosic finale that brings all the versatility of the violin to the fore. Finally, the orchestra will present Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8, an uncharacteristically cheerful and optimistic work from the Czech composer that was met with immediate critical and popular acclaim upon its premiere in Prague on the 2nd February 1890, which was conducted by Dvořák himself.

The InClassica International Music Festival is a celebration of the very best that the world of classical music has to offer. Featuring world-class concerts with some of the most renowned soloists, orchestras and conductors of our time, the festival boasts a series of richly diverse programmes ranging from seminal favourites all the way up to contemporary masters, promising a momentous two-week event that is sure to be an unforgettable experience for all!

Dubai Opera is the ideal venue to celebrate elegance and style. Kindly avoid overly casual or provocative attire, such as shorts or flip flops, to uphold our venue standards. Guests not complying with the dress code will not be permitted entry.

6+ years would require a ticket to enter the Dubai Opera Main Auditorium.

Below 6+ years are not permitted into the Dubai Opera Main Auditorium.

Approximately 2 hours including intermission.

Marc Bouchkov

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - “The Marriage of Figaro” Overture K.492

Alexey Shor - Violin Concerto No. 6 ""Carpe Diem", in three movements

1. Allegro

2. Moderato

3. Vivace


Antonin Dvorak - Symphony No. 8 in G major Op. 88, in four movements

1. Allegro con brio

2. Adagio

3. Allegretto grazioso – Molto Vivace

4. Allegro ma non troppo